Spinning Snowflakes

snowflake-1I love watching the snow falling outside my living room window. There’s nothing quite as peaceful as huge, lazy flakes drifting down from the sky. The earth seems quiet. Chaos is still. Crystal flakes dance and dip in a glorious ballet. They’re a testimony of God’s splendor, power, and love. The spinning snowflakes fill my soul with peace…

When I was growing up, there would be times when nature was especially beautiful, and my mother would grab my arm, smile, and say, “This is a memory!” From her, I learned the importance of fixing times of beauty into my mind. I learned to drink in lovely bits of scenery, breathe deeply, and whisper, “This is something to remember!

As I watch lazy snowflakes falling outside my window, I’m struck once again by the loveliness of creation. God is the ultimate artist, and I’m so glad that He created the masterpiece of our world. When life seems too hard, or when problems seem too complicated, it’s always good to look out a window at the magnificent vistas given to us by the Lord. After all, nothing seems quite as bad when you take a moment and watch snowflakes drifting from the sky.

 

snowy-waterGod’s voice is glorious in the thunder. We cannot comprehend the greatness of His power. For He directs the snow, the showers, and storm to fall upon the earth.”

Job 37:4-5

 

8 thoughts on “Spinning Snowflakes

    1. I’m so glad that you enjoyed my post, Ann! Hearing that makes me happy. Our world is such a lovely place! Right now, as I am looking out my window, I can see puffy clouds, a bird on top of a telephone pole, and fluffy rabbit. But more than that, I can see God’s handiwork in all the lovely details. I hope you have a great day! Thanks so much for commenting! 🙂

      Like

  1. You and my husband are kindred spirits about snow flakes, Danele.

    Me? Not so much. I’m a Florida girl turned Texan…beach and dessert sands run in my veins with a smattering of Louisiana and Florida swamps. Give me a sunset on the beach (or a sunrise), or an afternoon breathing the marshes of the East Coast and the waves pounding the shore. I love to watch the sun melt into the ocean horizon, casting a collage of color across sea and sky. And I am thankful to our Creator God. I love the humor of our Lord as He created roadrunners and jackalopes! I enjoyed your post, but y’all can have the snow flakes…not for this southern gal! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, DiAne, you just made me smile!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂 You also made me see the beach! I love the beautiful way that you write! Your descriptions are FABULOUS! Thanks for letting me see an ocean sunset this morning. You truly have a gift! ❤

      Like

  2. Loved this, Danele. I remember, as a child in Ohio, pressing my nose to the window and watching the big flakes stick to the glass outside, then slowly fade, only to be replaced by another, and another after that. I can still feel the frost on my nose! Each flake is a unique design to be enjoyed, sent from heaven as a speck from God’s art studio. I also love to dwell in the Scriptures in Job where God reveals mysteries of His creation, like the place where ice comes from and where hail is stored up for the Last Days. He is worthy of praise and worship today and always. May we glorify His Name in all the earth!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

