Misunderstood–The Nutty Truth

nuts 1While I was in quarantine, there were a few people who just didn’t understand my condition. Those people felt like I should just “snap out of it” and live a normal life. I spent a lot of time trying to explain Multiple Chemical Sensitivity to them, but they just didn’t get it. Since perfume and fabric softener didn’t make them sick, they didn’t see why it should bother me. In their mind, I was just a nut.

pecansI didn’t like having them think I was nutty. It hurt my feelings. It made me feel very small and insignificant. I wasted a lot of time trying to “prove” that I was right. I spent countless sleepless nights gathering data and devising “wise” arguments. Eventually, though, I learned an important truth—some people can’t be convinced. Some people simply can’t understand. Other people simply don’t want to understand. And trying to convince those people to see things my way is a complete waste of time. I also learned that allowing other people’s opinions to define how I felt about myself was STUPID. After all, what’s so bad about being seen as a nut? Nuts have all kinds of good things inside of them. Even if some people are allergic to nuts, most people really enjoy them. In fact, it could be said that a chocolate sundae doesn’t have the ability to reach the level of divine delectability without a sprinkling of nuts on the top!

hazelnutsFriends, I’ve learned that freedom comes when you relinquish your reputation into God’s hands. When people misunderstand despite being presented with the facts, it’s the only thing you CAN do. Stressing, worrying, questioning, reasoning, explaining—doesn’t do a lick of good, and it’s EXHAUSTING. Being misjudged is hard, but Jesus went through it too. 1 Peter 2:21b-23 says, “Christ is your example. Follow in His steps. He never…answered back when insulted; when He suffered He did not threaten to get even; He left his case in the hands of God who always judges fairly.”

Although it hurts to be misunderstood, it hurts more to worry about it.

10 thoughts on “Misunderstood–The Nutty Truth

  1. “I learned an important truth—some people can’t be convinced. Some people simply can’t understand. Other people simply don’t want to understand. And trying to convince those people to see things my way is a complete waste of time.”

    Wow Danele! What a great message of absolute truth for all of us in these uncertain times! How many of us spend countless hours attempting to convince the unconvinceable? And end up making ourselves crazy or fracturing relationships.

    Now Lord, give us the wisdom to apply this truth and the understanding when to shut our mouths and let your Spirit work in us and in others.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Dear DiAne, I’m so glad that you enjoyed this article! This lesson was a difficult one for me to learn. I’m the type of person who WANTS people to understand. It was hard for me to let go and let God handle the situation. And you’re right, this lesson can be applied in so many ways. Thank you for your lovely comment! I hope you have a truly wonderful day! ❤

      Like

  2. sandymauck

    Fellow nut, here. BTDT for 20 years. I did just what you did. Defending ourselves is a fruitless effort. He is our defense. Even this morning, hubby runs down to the laundry room to smell the washers and dryers and often runs the washers with nothing in them once so we are free from all those killer toxins.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Sandy, I’m so sorry you’re struggling with health issues too, but I’m glad to have you as a “fellow nut!” 🙂 I can’t think of nicer company. 🙂 Before I became ill with Multiple Chemical Sensitivity, I never imagined that fabric softener and detergent could make anyone sick. The concept was completely foreign to me. But I understand now–I just wish my understanding didn’t come from personal experience. 🙂 I hope you have a lovely day! Thanks for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. lelandandbecky

    I especially loved: “Nuts have all kinds of good things inside of them.” and “He left his case in the hands of God who always judges fairly.” Thanks, Danele!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Becky, thank you so much for your wonderful comment! I’m glad that you enjoyed this article! When I was struggling to deal with other people’s opinions, I learned the meaning of my name. Danele is derived from Daniel, and Daniel means “God is my judge.” Realizing that I didn’t have to worry about other people’s opinions was a great relief to me. Being misjudged hurt, but it’s good to know that Jesus understands and that He has shown us how to overcome. I hope you have a terrific day!! Thanks so much for commenting! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Kelly De Lance

    I too am a fellow Nut! You are LOVED and Appreciated! Thank you for sharing this message. Not all people have compassion,let alone understanding! I am thankful that you are well. I have extremely sensative skin and seem to get worse as I get older. God bless you richly!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Dear Kelly, you are so awesome! Thank you for your kind words!! I appreciate you too, my fellow nut! 🙂 🙂 🙂 I will be praying for your skin problems, I know that has to be awful!!! I hope you have a really great day! 🙂

      Like

  5. Danele, I loved this! What you wrote was so true. It is hard sometimes to get over things when people hurt you or don’t understand what is going on in your life. But it is something I am currently working on and studying Uninvited by Lysa TerKeurst is helping with that. Also thank you so much for the nice card you sent me. It meant so much to me that you would take time out of your schedule to remember my family. Your love for God shows through your actions and writings.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Kimberly, thank you so much for your lovely comment! It brought tears to my eyes. You are such an incredible blessing to me and to so many other people! I’m so glad that God opened the door and allowed us to find each other and become friends! I feel very honored to be your prayer partner! I hope you have a wonderful day! Thanks again for commenting! (By the way, I love Lysa Terkeurst’s writing–I’m going to look up the book you mentioned–it sounds really good!)

      Like

Leave a Reply

