Slip ’N Slide and Matters of Faith

slide 2When I was a little girl, summer meant one thing—Slip ’N Slide! The Slip ’N Slide was one of the most magical inventions ever created by mankind. It was a long strip of yellow plastic that you unrolled over your grass. When you connected the garden hose to one end, little fountains would arch across the plastic making a water wonderland. The idea of the Slip ’N Slide was simple. You ran across the grass, launched yourself into the air, hit the plastic, and your momentum would send you sliding through water all the way down the entire length of the slide. Oh, the bliss!!!!

Unfortunately, I had a problem—well, two problems, actually. I was uncoordinated, and I was a chicken.

slide 3My siblings were pros when it came to Slip ’N Slide. They would run like the wind, throw themselves into the air, hit the plastic perfectly, and sail beautifully down the slide. I, on the other hand, always looked like a galumphing camel whenever I tried to run. And worse than that, whenever I would reach the plastic I would hesitate, panic about tossing myself into the air, stumble, trip over my toes, fall on my face, and roll inelegantly off the plastic and onto the grass.

slide 1Our family owned a Slip ’N Slide for years, and I don’t think I made it perfectly down that slippery, yellow slide even once. I did, however, end up with an extreme aversion to the color yellow. To me, there was something totally insane about barreling at a breakneck speed and flinging myself into the air. Some people can do it, but I just didn’t seem to have the nerve or the knack.

As the years have passed, I’ve begun to realize that there is a correlation between Slip ’N Slides and faith. You see, according to Hebrews 11:1, faith is the substance of things hoped for and the evidence of things not seen. In other words, when you have faith, you believe that everything is going to be all right even though you can’t see any evidence proving it.

slide 5When I was a child, even though I knew that the Slip ’N Slide wasn’t going to hurt me—I was terrified of embracing the process of flinging myself into the unknown. Today, I find that I sometimes have the same struggle when it comes to faith. My heart believes that God has everything under control, but when I try to relinquish my worries to Him, I tend to balk, hesitate, and then trip over my own toes. In essence, I get in my own way instead of experiencing the freedom of sailing in God’s arms. To me, that’s a problem. A big one.

slide 4So what do I do about it? The way I see it, the only thing I can do is come to God in prayer admitting my tendency to worry. I can ask Him to help me with my fear and to increase my faith. After all, Jesus didn’t rebuke the man who came to Him in Mark 9:24. When the man asked Jesus to help his unbelief, Jesus did just that. God is a compassionate Father. He is loving and kind. He knows everything there is to know about us. He sees our struggles and meets us right where we are at. I think there’s something infinitely comforting about that fact. I may never be able to fling myself onto a Slip ’N Slide, but I do think that I can figuratively fling myself into God’s arms and let Him take me sailing.

hug“Jehovah is kind and merciful, slow to get angry, full of love. He is good to everyone, and His compassion is intertwined with everything He does.” –Psalm 145:8-9

11 thoughts on “Slip ’N Slide and Matters of Faith

    1. Dear Anita, thank you for your lovely comment! Like you, I’m grateful that God gives us grace! Each day, I’m learning and growing a little bit more–I’m so glad that God loves us even when we aren’t exactly perfect. 🙂 ❤

      Like

  1. Melissa

    I never could figure out those slip and slides. Our son loved them when he was a little boy. He and his friends would spend lots of afternoons playing on those things. 🙂 Thank you for this great post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. LOL, Melissa!!! 🙂 Slip and slides were totally beyond me!! I can still remember watching my siblings sliding gracefully down the slide and then totally messing up when it was my turn. I’m so glad that you enjoyed this post and that it reminded you of fun memories with your son! I hope you have a lovely day! 🙂

      Like

  2. Janice

    Always love your blogs. I don’t think they had slip and slide when I was a kid but I would have been chicken anyway. I definitely need to have more faith. I am going thru some health issues and been on short term thru my job but not sure if they are going to let me continue. I am worried about losing job and not sure if going to be able to work anymore. Scare of losing insurance specially because my husband is on it too

    But I know I need to have more faith.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Janice, I’m so glad that you enjoyed this article! I think that all of us (if we’re honest) have times when fear seems to surround us. And all of us (if we’re honest) could use more faith. I know that I sure could! Life can be incredibly scary at times. My illness and quarantine were extremely frightening. Having to give up my job and stop driving was terrifying. One of the most helpful calls I ever received came from a friend who simply said that she understood my confusion and fear because she’d been through a difficult time too. She didn’t condemn me for lack of faith, and she didn’t tell me in a condescending way that I shouldn’t be afraid. She simply said that God loved me and that He understood my confusion. She told me that God wasn’t angry at me because I had questions and worries. She told me that God would be with me every step of the way and that He would see me through. Dear Janice, that’s what I want to say to you. ❤ You are highly valued by God. He sees every one of your fears and worries, and He isn't angry because you have them. He understands, and He is looking at you with love. He is a kind and merciful Father. He will give you peace in the middle of the storm, and He will see you through. You will get through this trying time with flying colors. You will come out victorious on the other side. You will be triumphant!! Sometimes deliverance from hardship doesn't come overnight, but it will come. Things WILL get better. Things WILL turn around. And God WILL be with you every step of the way. He is proud of you. He loves you. He rejoices over you!! You are HIGHLY valued and INCREDIBLY important to God.

      When I was in quarantine, one of my favorite verses was Zephaniah 3:16b-18a. "Cheer up, don't be afraid. For the Lord your God has arrived to live among you. He is a mighty Savior. He WILL give you victory. He WILL rejoice over you in GREAT GLADNESS; He WILL love you and not accuse you. Is that a joyous choir I hear? No, it is the Lord himself EXULTING over you in HAPPY song."

      God loves you so much, Janice. I will be praying for you and standing with you in faith. I love the fact that we can pray for each other–there's such strength when we join together. You're such an incredible blessing to me and to so many others. Thank you for sharing your heart. ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

