Mary L. Ball #2–Author Interview

MaryBDear Friends,

I’m so delighted to welcome Mary L. Ball back to my blog. Mary is such a sweet, terrific person. She has a way of always lifting my spirits when we talk. Life hasn’t always been easy for her, but instead of becoming bitter, she has let her challenges turn her into a truly lovely person who exudes Christ’s love. She is such an amazing lady! I feel very blessed to know her!

Danele: Mary, I’m so glad that you’re able to talk with us today!

Mary: Thank you. I’m so excited to be on your lovely blog.

Danele: I know that my readers are eager to learn more about you! Can you describe a time when God revealed Himself to you in a special way?

Mary: My mother and stepfather are both in a nursing facility suffering from Alzheimer’s. It’s a sad disease that brings heartache to the entire family.

Danele: Oh, Mary! I’m so sorry! I can’t imagine handling something so tragic. How did the Lord help you?

Mary: I prayed that the Lord would give me some sort of peace each time I saw my mother and stepfather. After a visit where Mom asked about my oldest daughter who is in Heaven. (Mom asks periodically) I was sitting in the car—eyes moist and my heart heavy from sadness. I said, “Lord, why haven’t you given me peace to cope better with this?”

In my conscience God said, “I can’t offer calmness; you won’t turn it over to me.”

In that moment, I realized that my crying and worrying about the problem had prevented God from taking full charge and that I needed to stop reacting to the situation in the flesh. I needed to trust Him to give me peace which passes all understanding. It’s still difficult, but before I go inside to see them, I pray and ask the Lord to give me the strength to let Him be my comfort.

Danele: Oh, Mary, you just brought tears to my eyes! Thank you so much for sharing your heart with us. I will keep you and your family in my prayers. What you just said has struck such a chord with me. It reminds me of Jesus’ words in Matthew 11:28, “Come unto me, all ye that labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.” I love the fact that Jesus is just waiting to bear our burdens. The Bible has been such a comfort to me. Why do you think the Bible is important?

Mary: The only way to get to know the Lord and partake in all He has in store for us is by reading His words. That’s how we learn wisdom and grace.

Danele: That’s so true! The Bible has helped me in so many ways. Another thing that has helped me is listening to praise music and singing praises to God. Do you think that singing is important?

Mary: I sure do! My husband and I often sing at churches and nursing homes. To me, singing praises to the Lord is a way of giving Him worship. When I sing about His mercy or salvation, my heart reaches out to Him with love and thankfulness. It’s important to lift a voice to God with a merry heart full of gratitude—it humbles us.

Danele: I know you have a music ministry. Can you share the link to your ministry with us?

Mary: Of course! The link to our music ministry is:  http://heirsofsalvation2.webs.com/

Danele: Thank you! Mary, there are so many wonderful praise songs that I love. Some of them seem to usher me right into God’s presence. Is there a specific song that does that for you?

Mary: There are several, but one that especially reminds me to keep my eyes on the Lord and trust Him is “Stand Still.” From the beginning of the first stanza—The Father has a plan, though it’s hard to see it now. You feel you’re walking all alone, but He is there, no doubt—my heart opens up to His mercies.

Danele: That’s such a beautiful song! I think that one of my favorites is “I Stand in Awe of You.” I love the stanza, You are beautiful beyond description. Too marvelous for words. It makes my mind spin, trying to imagine what God is like! Now, before I let you go, I would love for you to talk a little about your writing. Can you give us a list of the books you have written?

Mary: Escape to Big Fork Lake, Redemption in Big Fork Lake, Stone of Destiny, Postmarked Ever After, and Christmas at Angel Ranch.

Danele: You’re releasing two new books in November 2016, aren’t you?

Mary: Yes. A Love Valley Christmas and Sparks of Love.

Danele: I would love for you to tell us more about one of your books!

Mary: My novel, Stone of Destiny, isn’t a new release, but it’s a book I felt compelled to write. I was passing by my oldest grandson one day; his nose was deep into one of those YA books about magic. The thought came to me that there all kinds of captivating wonder around and real miracles. So I set out to write a fictional story that starts with a simple object but becomes hope to hang onto through faith and prayer.

Danele: Miracles truly are the greatest “magic” of all! Can you give us the back cover blurb for Stone of Destiny and some purchasing links?

Mary: Sure! Taylor Harrison has given up on everything but her work. After becoming the youngest CEO of Mugful’s Beverage Company, she believes life is complete–until her grandmother asks her to oversee the renovations of the family home, in addition to searching for a missing heirloom. Her first contact with what she believes is an insignificant ring, lost for fifty years, sends her life spinning. Taylor experiences strange dreams. Unexpected feelings surface that she doesn’t understand. Thoughts that should remain unspoken are voiced. Taylor’s emotional journey begins, testing a heart as cold as the ring itself and forcing her to question everything she believes. Is this a fairytale, or simply her soul reaching out for a different world–a life she can only find through faith and a divine trust in God?

http://www.amazon.com/Stone-Destiny-Mary-L-Ball/dp/1940099153/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/stone-of-destiny-mary-l-ball/1116870635?ean=9781940099156

Danele: Mary, it has been such an honor and privilege to talk with you again! Thank you so much for being on my blog!

Mary: It’s my pleasure to be here with your awesome readers. I hope everyone has a wonderful summer.

 

Friends, Mary Ball is such a terrific person! If you would like to learn more about her or her books, please follow the links below.

https://twitter.com/inspires4mary

https://www.facebook.com/Author-Mary-L-Ball-200478210087932/

https://plus.google.com/+MaryLBall9/posts

6 thoughts on “Mary L. Ball #2–Author Interview

  1. lelandandbecky

    My favorite part of the interview is: “The only way to get to know the Lord and partake in all He has in store for us is by reading His words. That’s how we learn wisdom and grace.” So true! Thanks for the interview.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

