Good Grief!!! There’s A Snake Beneath My Desk!!!

sanke 1When I was in high school, I LOVED biology class. My teacher was super-cool, and he made learning fun. I really enjoyed the subject matter, and even the laboratory dissections were bearable. However, there was one part of biology class that I did NOT enjoy. It was a nasty little habit of my biology teacher, and I became acquainted with it on the first day of school. On that momentous day, I was reading my textbook when I saw movement out of the corner of my eye. Looking down, I spotted a HUGE snake slithering by my tennis shoe. I nearly jumped out of my skin. I was about to scream and run for cover when I caught my biology teacher’s eye. He was trying not to laugh.

At that time, being “cool” was very important to me. Deciding that it wouldn’t be “cool” to dash out of the room in hysterics, I choked down my revulsion and silently watched the snake slithering past my desk. I was happy to see it moving away from me, but I’ll have to admit that I felt jumpy the rest of the hour.

classroomI hoped the “snake incident” was just a fluke, but my biology teacher seemed to enjoy letting his pet out of its cage. At first, it was totally unnerving. Each time the snake slithered by, I had to fight the urge to leave the room. But partway through the school year, I found myself becoming accustomed to my unusual classmate. And by the end of the year, I hardly noticed it when the snake curled up beneath my desk and took a nap.

The other day, I was thinking about my old biology teacher. He was an excellent instructor, but I’m sorry to say that most of what I learned from him has faded from my mind. Although I can’t remember all of the biological terms I memorized, I still remember the snake. In fact, I remember it vividly.

python 1My biology teacher’s snake taught me many things, and one of the lessons I learned was extremely powerful. You see, that silly snake taught me that I can get used to anything—even things that at first seem totally revolting. In my way of thinking, sin is like my biology teacher’s snake. When I first saw the snake, it totally freaked me out. I didn’t want anything to do with it. I wanted to run from it. But as time passed, I became used to in my life. And eventually, I let it curl up beneath my chair and take a nap.

I’m not a perfect person. (Shocker!!) And when I fall for a temptation, it’s usually because the temptation has been presented over and over until I’ve gotten used to it. Letting down my guard is very dangerous. When I do, a sin that horrified me may end up becoming part of my daily life. It’s much harder to clean up the aftermath of sin than to avoid it in the first place!

Single cross orangeI’m not the smartest person in the world, but I’ve learned a few things about sin and temptation. And the biggest lesson I’ve learned is that I should NEVER lose my horror over sin. I should never let SIN get close to me. I should NEVER let sin inhabit ANY part of my mind, my thinking, or my daily life. I’ve learned that if I am not SUPER vigilant, sin can curl up in my life, and what’s worse—by the time it does, it may not seem like a big deal…and that’s AWFUL!!!

Let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race that is set out for us.” Hebrews 12:1b

 

12 thoughts on “Good Grief!!! There’s A Snake Beneath My Desk!!!

  1. Hope in the storm blog

    What a wonderful post Danele, and how clever you are in revealing such a truth. I love this insight you have and the way you share it. You are so right, sin becomes something we don’t notice if we allow it to settle under our desk. Unfortunately our world has become like this, immune to the sins and accepting their existence as the norm because they have settled under our desks, where they are not challenged anymore. God bless your gift. x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad that you enjoyed this article, Margaret! Thank you so much for your kind words and encouragement! I really appreciated your thoughtful and insightful comments! Sin is so sneaky. It creeps in so slowly and softly… YIKES!! It is scary when you think about it!! I hope you have a wonderful day! Thanks again for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Becky Smith

    I have to admit that this blog made me a bit squeamish at first. But what you learned and shared made me look at it differently
    – getting used to anything
    – falling into temptation after getting so used to it being presented, that our guard is let down
    – never losing the horror of sin
    – never letting sin get close to me
    – never letting sin become a part of me
    – keeping vigilant
    One of my favorite verses: “I will set no worthless thing before my eyes; I hate the work of those who fall away; It shall not fasten its grip on me.: Psalm 101:3
    THANKS FOR SHARING!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, Becky!!! What a marvelous verse!!! After I read your comment, I looked up Psalms 101:3 in my Bible, and I marked it with a star! I have the Living Bible, and it says in part that “I will have no part in [sin]…I will stay away from every evil.” What a brilliantly appropriate verse for this blog article! Thank you so much for sharing it with me! I’m really glad that you enjoyed this article and that you commented!

      Like

  3. Powerful post, Danele! And dynamic words!

    I can visualize your eyes riveted to that creepy creature. I woulda screamed and ran. But it brings to my mind the account in Exodus of Moses lifting up the snake in the wilderness when the people had rebelled against God. Imagine, all they had to do was look up to the cross. However, that meant taking their eyes off those squirming, slithering, hordes of snakes about to bite ’em. And many just couldn’t do it. They died.

    Imagine the faith it took for those who were saved to look to that cross. The message is the same today–Look to the cross of Jesus Christ!

    Your message encourages me to be diligent to speak words of the powerful truth of our deliverance from the Snake. Thanks girl! Wonderful blog!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, DiAne!! What a powerful example!!! I never thought about how the Israelite people had to take their eyes off of the snakes in order to look “in faith” at the snake Moses had lifted up! Isn’t it amazing how each time you read a Bible story, new truths are revealed? Thank you so much for sharing today! You’ve given me something to think about! ❤ 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Kelly De Lance

    Wow! More Wisdom to Ponder On and Apply! Thank you Lord for giving Danele the words to share so that you are Glorified and we Learn from it. Every time I see a large snake I think of the garden and the Deception of the Enemy,so No I don’t care to be around them. Be Blessed Danele!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad that you enjoyed this article, Ann! I love your analogy of keeping our eyes on Jesus and not on the creepy crawling things of the world! Thank you so much for commenting! I hope you have a wonderful day!

      Like

  5. sandymauck

    As usual an excellent analogy. Sin creeps in so easily and before you know it, it is a part of your everyday life. May we always remember this lesson.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

