Easily Offended–Who, Me???

fear of unknownWhen I was a teenager, I harbored a GIANT secret. It was a secret that I hoped no one would guess—I wasn’t perfect. The truth was that I wasn’t even close to perfect. I felt like a mess most of the time, and I hated feeling that way. If you’ve been reading my blog for any length of time, then you know that I’m pigheaded, and you also know that I like plans of action. Well, I had a pigheaded plan to cover up my flaws—I was going to act as perfect as possible all of the time.  Unfortunately, acting perfect isn’t easy. I was trying incredibly hard to do everything just right, and I was horribly afraid that I was going to fail. And every second of every day, my deepest fear was that people would see right through my “perfect” exterior and realize that I was the weirdest goofball on the planet.

split headBecause I was afraid that people could see through me, I was always on alert. In my mind, I became an expert at reading body language. I thought I could pick up on nonverbal cues and tell when people thought I wasn’t measuring up. As I went throughout my day, I was constantly studying people’s faces to see if they were being critical. I was always picking apart people’s sentences to see if there was a hidden insult.

This of course, was EXHAUSTING!!!

When I thought people were being critical, I would become offended and try to defend myself. I would either confront the person by explaining in great detail how I was doing everything right, or else I would retreat into my shell and ignore the person completely. Neither method was healthy, and neither provided positive results.

Truthfully, I was a mess.

shattered reflection1 Corinthians 13:5 says that love isn’t easily angered, or irritable, or touchy. It says that love doesn’t keep a record of wrongs. If I’m going to be honest, even though I was trying hard to be a “perfect Christian” I wasn’t living a life of love—I was living a life of vigilant manipulation. If people didn’t think I was perfect, I was going to MAKE them think I was perfect. I’d argue my point until they were exhausted, or I’d ignore them until they were ashamed. My attitude wasn’t just wrong—it was sinful. Not only that, it was just plain STUPID. Most of the time, the nonverbal cues that I was so “expertly” gleaning were incorrect. Lots of times, people weren’t trying to be critical, and they were totally confused when I’d get my poor little feelings hurt and pitch a fit. The truth is, when I went around guarding myself from offence, I looked like a fool, and I was a pain in the neck to be around.

sphereNow, what changed things? That’s simple. I read James 3:16 and finally understood it. “For where envying and strife is, there IS CONFUSION and every evil work.”

This verse hit me right between my eyes and made me stagger. I knew that my obsessive desire for approval meant that my heart was full of envy and strife. James said that where there is envy and strive there IS (not maybe or possibly—but IS) CONFUSION and every evil work. As I read that verse, I began to wonder if it was possible that my mind was confused. Was it possible that I was perceiving things in a skewed way?

After praying about it, I went to my mother and asked for her help. My mother is one of the wisest people that I know, and she didn’t brush off my concerns—she agreed to be my sounding board. glass reflectionWhen we were out and about, she would listen to things that were said to me and later we would discuss things. I’d tell her exactly what I thought the person had meant, and she would tell me what the person had ACTUALLY meant. You see, I’d hear the exact same thing my mother heard, but I had the meaning all mixed up. For instance, when a friend said she had to run to the store and asked if I wanted anything picked up, my mother heard a nice offer from a thoughtful person—I heard someone saying that they didn’t want to spend time with me and telling me that I was too incompetent to go to the store for myself. Many times, my mother was astonished at what I thought I’d heard.

When I realized that I was confused, I wrote James 3:16 on a note card. I laminated it and put it in my pocket, and I kept it in my pocket for close to a year. Whenever I would talk to people and think they were being critical of me, I would put my hand in my pocket and touch the notecard. I would remember that I could be perceiving things incorrectly. I would remember to give the person the benefit of the doubt. I would remember that love isn’t easily offended or touchy. I would smile and let any “cruel” words or “slighting” actions slide past. I would refuse to take offense. I would picture myself as a big, bouncy ball. Offence would try and hit me, but it would simply bounce off my rubber sides and fly off into space.

sunset freedomAs time passed, I began to enjoy my new freedom. And yes, it WAS freedom. Not having to worry about protecting myself from every word and glance was liberating. Not having to stomp out fires and prove my worth was exhilarating. I never knew how horribly bound I was until suddenly I was walking free.

Was I being a fool to live this way? Shouldn’t I have kept trying to protect my reputation and my “perfect” image? Not on your life. I’ve learned that most people aren’t trying to be snarky or mean. Most people are so caught up in their own lives that they don’t have time to worry about yours. Most are busy, and worried, and harassed, and tired. And if they say something offensive, they usually don’t mean it—most of the time they aren’t even aware that they’ve said it. And if they are trying to be a jerk—then why would you worry about what they thought anyway? Why would you waste one second of precious time trying to convince them that they are wrong? It simply isn’t worth the effort. Life is too short.

butterfly soapbubble 2Before the scales were lifted from my eyes, I thought minds couldn’t be confused, but I was wrong. You see, when we get into the habit of being easily offended, we allow our minds to become the devil’s playground. When we allow envy and strife into our hearts, we basically lay out the welcome mat for confusing thoughts. I’m not always the sharpest tool in the toolbox, but one thing I’ve learned through bitter experience is that being easily offended is a HORRIBLE way to live. It is suffocating. It is exhausting. It is mentally tortuous. It’s much nicer to let go of the vigilance and trust God to handle things.

12 thoughts on “Easily Offended–Who, Me???

  1. Oh yes, being prickly and defensive is still something I deal with. Thank you for the reminder that while we are new creations in Christ, the mindset has to be worked at. We have to develop Godly habits, not just in actions, but thoughts. Have a lovely day, dear Danele!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Amy

    I remember when you taught me the trick of carrying around an applicable verse. It changed my life, too! Thanks for sharing. I still have some of those folded up 3×5 cards around here….just as a reminder that I am who Jesus says I am!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, Amy! You’re such a sweetheart! Thank you for your lovely comment! I’m glad the note card trick worked for you too! I still have tons of old note cards too. Some of them are practically falling to pieces they’ve had such a workout! LOL! Thank you so much for letting me know that what I said all those years ago helped. You have no idea how much that means to me! Love you!!! ❤ ❤ ❤ 🙂

      Like

  3. Pamela Pavkov

    What a great story! Have you ever considered writing a book? Lol no seriously I’ve been there and one day when I was around 40 or so I too decided I wasn’t hearing things right but at the same time I decided I didn’t care what people thought of me because I knew the only one who mattered was God! So as long as I lived my life for his praise all the nonsense from other people didn’t matter. I find I have been much happier after that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Pam, thank you so much for commenting! Living only to please God really is freeing, isn’t it? It is amazing how liberating making that choice can be!! I had a lovely friend named Margie Houmes who wrote once that “If you choose to make men’s approval your standard for assessing your value and worth, you will be forever bound to them…owned by them…enslaved by them. Jesus was never owned. He knew whose He was.” Margie died not long after she wrote that message–it was one of the last things I heard her say. I have her words written down and taped by my computer screen. Another saying I have written down is Proverbs 29:25, “Fear of man is a dangerous trap, but to trust in God means safety.” Like you, I’ve found myself to be much happier when I stopped worrying about other people’s opinions. I lived in bondage for so many years–I never want to go back into that prison. Whenever I feel myself getting uptight over what people think, I read my sayings and pray for strength to get back on track. Thank you so much for your lovely comment, Pam! It really made me reflect and think! I appreciate it! 🙂

      Like

  4. Danele, I think this is one of your best posts yet. Even though you”ve “done gone to gettin’ real personal.” But don’t you think we all struggle in this area? I saw myself in everything you described and I remember the freedom I felt when I finally came to realize it wasn’t them…it was me.

    Thanks for your disarming transparency. And I don’t know about you, but when I’m tired and over stressed, I can sure lapse back into that old mentality if I’m not diligent to remember God loves me, no matter what. Then His peace fills my heart and prideful self takes a blow to the chin. Thank you, Jesus.

    DiAne

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear DiAne, thank you so much for your kind words! I’m so glad that you think this is one of my best posts. That makes me very happy. You’re right about weariness making it easier to lapse into bad thinking patterns. I find that I have to be very careful when I’m stressed or having trouble sleeping. You’re also right that God’s peace and the knowledge of His wonderful love really deals a blow to our prideful self!!! Thank you so much for commenting! I really appreciate you! ❤ 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

