Marcy G. Dyer–Author Interview

Marcy Dyer

Dear Friends,

It’s my pleasure to introduce you to Marcy G. Dyer. Marcy is one of those unforgettable people that you occasionally meet in life—someone who has faced incredible odds and not only survived, but thrived. I admire Marcy’s courage and her tenacity. I feel very privileged to know her, and it is such an incredible blessing to have her on my blog today!

Danele: Hello, Marcy! I’m so glad that you’re able to talk with us!

Marcy: Thank you so much for having me on your blog. It’s quite an honor to be interviewed by you!

Danele: The honor is all mine! I can’t wait to learn more about you! Can you tell us how you came to Christ?

Marcy: I was quite young. I think about six or seven. My dad and my granny (Mom’s mom) were talking about heaven and hell. I realized at that moment that I wasn’t good enough to go to heaven. Dad and Granny both led me to Jesus.

Danele: I was that age too when I first realized that I needed Christ to be my Savior. There’s something incredibly beautiful about how God can get hold of a child’s heart. I lived for Christ most of my life, but I’m afraid that when my illness hit, I was so hurt and confused that I turned away from God for awhile. Has anything like that ever happened to you?

Marcy: When I was in my early 20s, I wandered from the church and actually from God. I tried to do life on my own terms. In the midst of a divorce, I struggled to get my life back on track. I felt I needed to get my act together before I could come back to God.

Danele: When I wandered away, I felt like that too. I was such an angry mess that I was afraid to face God. I tried to hide from Him. I’m so glad that God kept seeking me out. I learned an important truth during those dark days—I couldn’t become good enough to face God, I just had to be brave enough to call out to Him and ask for forgiveness. When I did that, He welcomed me back with open arms. What finally convinced you to go back to God?

Marcy: My 15-year-old sister-in-law called me and pretty much slapped me upside the head with the Bible. She told me that I couldn’t get my life together without God. That was a turning point in my life. I realized then that God was always there waiting for me. No, actually, He was pursuing me. I was the one who had turned away; yet no matter what, He was ready to welcome me into His loving arms.

Danele: That’s so beautiful! I love how God surrounds us with love—not condemnation—when we cry out to Him. I think Jeremiah 31:3b-4a says it all: “I have loved you with an everlasting love; I have drawn you with loving-kindness. I will build you up again and you will be rebuilt.” I know those words were originally talking about God’s relationship with Israel, but they became deeply personal to me when I rededicated my life to Christ. It was incredibly moving to realize that even though I’d wandered away from God, He still loved me, and He was drawing me back so He could rebuild my life and restore my faith. Bible verses can be incredibly powerful. Is there one that really speaks to you?

Marcy: I have many favorite verses, but one that I cling to in bad times is Jeremiah 29:11: “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” This is one of my favorite verses because it reminds me that no matter what happens, no matter how bleak this world looks, God is still in control. He still has plans for me. He may allow me to go through the valley, but when He does, it’s because He has a purpose. It’s not random. Another favorite is Hebrews 13:5b: “I’ll never leave you, nor forsake you.”

Danele: Those are wonderful verses! I love the fact that God has GOOD plans for our lives and that He never forsakes us in our pain. Knowledge like that is what helped me through my illness. You’ve struggled with chronic illness too, haven’t you?

Marcy: Yes, I have several chronic illnesses. My battle started when I was in my late twenties. At times it has been very frustrating, and at first I frequently prayed for healing, but God clearly told me that His grace was sufficient. I’ve learned that He has a purpose for each hardship in my life. He will use the hurts for good. Nothing will be wasted. I have connected with some great people who are struggling with chronic illnesses. Had I not been ill, I would’ve never had the honor and privilege of making their acquaintance, but since we deal with some of the same problems, I’ve made some lifelong friends. I’ve had the honor of praying with them, encouraging them, and just loving them. I wouldn’t trade my life.

Danele: That’s beautiful, Marcy! It’s wonderful how God can turn horrible things into good things. I’m constantly amazed by this awesome Lord that we serve! Now, before I let you go, I’d like to talk a little about your writing. I know that you’ve written a suspenseful book series called Desert Winds. What are the titles of the books in your series?

Marcy: Down & Out, Out for Blood, Blood & Lies, and Lies & Alibis.

Danele: Can you tell us more about Lies & Alibis, the fourth book in your Desert Winds series?

Marcy: Sure! In Lies & Alibis, Andrea Simmons, a spunky nurse, fights a daily battle with Rheumatoid Arthritis. When her father is killed in a hit and run accident, she moves home to help her mother with her younger sister…Damon Worth zipped through the ranks at the Odessa Police Department to become the youngest detective in the department. He’s determined to prove he can excel at the job despite his own fears of inadequacy…When Andrea walks in on a double homicide, Damon catches the case. The more he investigates, the more ties he finds to the pretty redhead. As the killer stalks Andrea, despite his deepening feelings for her, Damon fears he can’t keep her or her family safe from the lunatic intent on terrorizing her.

Danele: It sounds like Lies & Alibis is going to be a thrill ride! Can you share a purchasing link with us?

Marcy: You can find Lies & Alibis on Amazon: http://amzn.to/1TVpuZT

Danele: Marcy, I want to thank you for being with us today! I’ve really enjoyed learning more about you!

Marcy: Thank you so much for hosting me. I’ve enjoyed chatting with you.

 

Friends, Marcy Dyer is such a lovely person. She’s been through the fire, but rather than letting the fire destroy her, she’s chosen to let it refine and strengthen her. I really admire how she’s handled her illness! If you’d like to learn more about Marcy and her books, please follow the links below. I hope you have a wonderful day!

http://www.marcydyer.com

http://www.facebook.com/marcydyer

http://www.twitter.com/marcyder

http://www.gimpygal.com

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6876464.Marcy_G_Dyer

4 thoughts on “Marcy G. Dyer–Author Interview

  1. lisalickel

    I’ve appreciated everything about Marcy ever since she thought blood was okay in my second book with Prism. Great to read even more about you here.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

