Lisa J. Lickel–Author Interview

Lisa Lickel

Dear Friends,

It’s a privilege to introduce you to the wonderful author in this photo, Lisa J. Lickel. Lisa is a sensational writer and a terrific person. I’ve had such a blast getting to know her over this past year. I’ve found her to be extremely kind and thoughtful. She’s also a lot of fun! I feel very blessed to have her on my blog today.

Danele: Hello, Lisa! It’s such an honor to interview you!

Lisa: Thank you for having me, Danele. You’ve been so gracious to everyone in the Prism group of authors. I’m excited to read your new series too.

Danele: That’s so nice of you to say! I’ll admit that I’m very excited about my books. I can’t wait until they’re released–being published is a dream come true! Well, let’s jump right into things. What were the circumstances surrounding your decision to surrender your heart to Christ?

Lisa: I was in high school when I finally lost my battle with doubt, and fear, and fierce independence. Happiest day ever! I cried and cried.

Danele: I know what you mean. When I fully surrendered to Christ, I felt like I was floating on air! Were there roadblocks to your decision?

Lisa: I had always struggled with why and how–what did God matter, and was He real. Jesus seemed so full of Himself in the Bible, and I didn’t like that when I was in my early teens.

Danele: So what changed?

Lisa: I went to church camp and met a truly loving, believing counselor. He was a university English professor who gave his summers to nurture kids. Wow. He really helped me see the truth of the Way.

Danele: That’s so wonderful! I don’t think people fully realize what an impact they can have on the lives of others. That professor gave up his summer to be a camp counselor and he ended up helping you come to Christ. Now, you write books and have a wide-reaching platform for the Lord. It makes me realize just how important it is to watch how we interact with others. We never know what far-reaching influence we will have. It’s so important to pay attention to the people around us. We never know if we will have an opportunity to talk with them again.

Lisa: That’s true. Two years ago I lost three friends to cancer—the first people of those I counted my friends.

Danele: Oh, Lisa! I’m so sorry!

Lisa: One was a woman who loved me much more than I was capable of loving her. She exemplified living for Christ–though I didn’t always approve of the choices she made. But it taught me more about unconditional love than any other experience I could have had. I look forward to timelessness with her in heaven.

Danele: It’s such a comfort to know that we will be reunited with the people we love. 1 Thessalonians 4:13 says that we don’t have to grieve as those who have no hope. When our loved ones know Christ, we know that we will see them again. That verse always makes me smile! Do you have a favorite Bible verse, Lisa?

Lisa: I love Hebrews 10:23, “Let us hold fast the profession of our faith without wavering; for He is faithful that promised.” It’s a challenge to live every day for Christ—He’s the one who promised and is faithful even when I am not.

Danele: That’s a beautiful verse! God’s steadfastness is so wonderful. One of my favorite hymns is “Great is Thy Faithfulness.” I love the idea that “there is no shadow of turning” with God. Now, Lisa, can you tell us a little about your latest book?

Lisa: Sure. My last published novel is called The Last Detail. It’s about a young woman with elderly parents who have passed away. She’s a little old fashioned, and she runs the Last Detail, her parent’s business. She takes care of people’s end of life issues, such as estates, funerals, and so forth. She meets a missionary on home leave who is recovering from injuries, and she realizes there’s more to life than her little corner of the world. When he can’t return to the field, he sticks around, takes on a new career, and a whole new path in life. Part of that new path includes the young woman who took care of his late uncle’s last wishes. They’ve both made life-changing choices and must weather every storm that hits them. Here are some links: http://amzn.to/1LXOeLn (ebook); http://amzn.to/1L0Czz1 (print).

Danele: The Last Detail sounds really good! Now, Lisa, I know that you’ve also written some children’s books. Can you tell us a little about your series?

Lisa: I’ve only written one children’s series–and I wrote it as an act of love. I truly learned that writing for children is a thousand times harder than writing for adults. The First Children of Farmington will be my only effort.

Danele: What inspired you to write it?

Lisa: In 1997, when I learned about all of the ethnic groups that settled in my community, I collected stories about them and got permission from their relatives to retell them. Each of the six stories in my series revolves around real people and an incident from their lives. For purposes of creating coherent tales that are stand-alone but involve a recurring character, I adjusted history and put them all roughly in the same time period—about 1850.

Danele: The First Children of Farmington is a great children’s series. I really enjoyed reading all six of the books. Can you tell us more about them?

Lisa: The stories are based on different themes: how to get along with a new friend who doesn’t speak the same language (Green Leaf the Potawatomi Boy), blended families (John Klessig the Saxon Boy), peer pressure (Marie Brinker the French Girl), the importance of education (Matthew LaCraft the Yankee Boy), obedience (Huldah Hartz the German Girl), and kinship (Ann Riley the Irish Girl). They are short chapbooks, illustrated by Brenda Hendricks. They include a glossary, an introduction, and a hidden objects activity page. Each book, geared for young readers, has links and more information on my website, www.lisalickel.com.  For instance, there’s a link to the spoken Potawatomi language and coloring pages for The Irish Girl.

Danele: Your children’s books are really good–I liked them all. I think my favorites were Green Leaf the Potawatomi Boy and Matthew LaCraft the Yankee Boy. Each of the books were terrific! You even won an award for one of them, didn’t you?

Lisa: Yes, I was honored by the Wisconsin Writers Association in 2013 for John Klessig the Saxon Boy, which won first place in its category.

Danele: That’s wonderful! Can you give us a list of the other books you’ve written?

Lisa: I’d be happy to! Meander Scar, A Summer in Oakville, Brave New Century, and Healing Grace. I’ve also published The Buried Treasure mystery series: The Last Bequest, The Map Quilt, and The Newspaper Code.

Danele: Lisa, thank you so much for being with us today! I’m happy that I’ve had this opportunity to talk with you. It’s been fun!

Lisa: I’m glad you asked, and I enjoyed our visit very much. Thank you.

 

Friends, Lisa is a terrific person and a wonderful author. If you would like to learn more about her or her books, please follow the links below. I hope you have a wonderful day!

www.lisalickel.com

www.facebook.com/lisalickel

18 thoughts on “Lisa J. Lickel–Author Interview

  1. Lisa, it should also be mentioned, is a promoter and encourager and inspiration for new writers. Little known fact: she comes up with the most awesome names for businesses.
    The woman was born to write!
    Another great interview, Danele.
    Hope you ladies get to meet each other. Lisa is even better to know in person 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. lisalickel

      Oh, this reply didn’t come up when I first checked my kindle this morning. I miss our Wisconsin wanderings… So kind of you, Prude. Not to mention your own stories…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. As usual, a super interview! I’m eager to read your children’s series, Lisa. Several years ago I wrote and illustrated a four book series, and then a stand alone book, all for children. Got one rejection and threw them in the drawer.

    Thinking about when I finish the ROPED series, hauling these out and giving it another go.

    Happy Thanksgiving, ladies!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’m so glad that you liked the interview, Sally! And I agree, learning more about Lisa and her experience at church camp was terrific! I enjoyed it too! I hope you have a wonderful day, and thanks for commenting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

