Brooke Williams–Author Interview

Brooke Williams

Dear Friends,

Today, I’d like to introduce you to the terrific woman in this photograph. Brooke Williams is lovely inside and out. She is also an ABSOLUTE HOOT!! Whenever I read her books, or talk with her, I inevitably start giggling. She is SUCH a crack up. Proverbs 17:22 says that “a merry heart doeth good like medicine,” and those words could have been written in relation to Brooke. It always does me good to talk with her. She’s a very talented writer, and she has a new book being released in THREE DAYS!!! I couldn’t be more delighted to have Brooke on my blog today!

Danele: Hello, Brooke! I’m glad that you’re able to talk with us.

Brooke: Thank you so much for having me! I’ve appreciated your one of a kind encouragement and support throughout my career.

Danele: That’s so nice of you to say–I really appreciate you too! It’s been a blast getting to know you, and your book, Accept This Dandelion, had me chuckling from the first page on.

Brooke: I’m glad! Although my books are not all overtly Christian, they have Christian themes woven into them, and they are all clean and uplifting as well as lighthearted.

Danele: Lighthearted is a good word for them. I haven’t read them all yet, but I’ve enjoyed the ones I have. I love a book that makes me giggle. Well, let’s jump right into things. Can you describe the circumstances surrounding your decision to give your heart to Christ?

Brooke: Sure, I remember the moment vividly. I went to church camp at the age of 14, and while I went to church my whole life, I never really understood what it all meant. The first night of camp, something clicked and I finally “got it.” I turned my life over and haven’t regretted the decision since.

Danele: Church camp is such a wonderful place! When I went, there were times when God’s presence came so powerfully that I felt like I was being wrapped in a warm blanket. The revelation that God wasn’t just a “nice idea,” but that He was a LIVING force was so amazing. I’m so glad that God reveals Himself to us and draws us into a relationship with Him! One of my favorite Bible verses is Jeremiah 31:3, “I have drawn you with an everlasting love; I have drawn you with loving-kindness.” Do you have a favorite Bible verse?

Brooke: I sure do! In Matthew 6:19-21, Matthew talks about storing up your treasures in heaven and not on earth because the earthly things can be destroyed but heavenly things cannot. I take this in a number of ways. I try to invest in people and not things…spend my time wisely, that sort of thing. I think if we all strived toward heavenly rewards instead of earthly ones, we’d have a lot less messes to clean up!

Danele: I can agree with that! And I love the idea of investing in people rather than things. Having been in quarantine for seven years, I’ve learned that it’s people–not possessions–that matter. Have you learned any other important lessons lately?

Brooke: I feel like I have learned a lot about God through my children. They’ve taught me so many lessons. Take unconditional love, for example. I never really understood it before I had children. I get it now. There’s absolutely nothing I wouldn’t do for them, and I know that’s how God feels about me–only on a much larger scale. I’ve also learned what true patience is and that I don’t have nearly as much as I should or thought I did. My children also teach me how to slow down and enjoy little things like blowing dandelion fluff and chasing bubbles.

Danele: It’s the little things that make life worth living. Joy is so important. I know that God loves laughter.

Brooke: I think so too. And my children have made everything more funny.  I think sleep deprivation does strange things to a person, and my kids have provided plenty of that for me. In fact, I didn’t start writing romantic comedy until after my kids were born. I was a more serious writer until then. God has taught me to laugh again through my children. They’re a true delight in the things they say and do, and they reflect the joyful spirit God wants us all to have. The other day, driving to school, my oldest said seriously, “I don’t think I could do a nose stand.” I agreed with her that she probably couldn’t and then giggled to myself the rest of the day. They come up with something new every day, and I can’t wait to hear what they say each morning. I see God in their innocence and through the wonderment in their eyes.

Danele: That’s so beautiful! And you’re right, laughter is important–especially when you’ve been through something that zaps all of the joy right out of you. Through battling a chronic illness, I’ve learned that lesson well. It can be hard to keep your spirits up when you are in pain.

Brooke: Depression is such a huge struggle, and so many people deal with it. It’s disheartening to think of those who walk the path alone.

Danele: Isn’t that the truth? I don’t know how I could have gone through my ordeal without the support of my family.

Brooke: Me too. I’ve had several times of great darkness in my life, and I feel like God used people and circumstances to pull me back from the brink. I feel privileged to have the family I have and the faith I hold. I pray that if I ever fall back in that direction again, God will be there once again to bring me back.

Danele: That’s my prayer too. When I was going through my struggle, it felt like I was in a slippery black pit with no way out. I think the one good thing about battling depression is that it teaches you to enjoy every bit of laughter and love in your life. When you’re going through the battle, it can feel like you will never win out–that the world will always be gray. But just as the seasons always change, depression will always give way to joy. It doesn’t happen overnight. But it DOES happen. Psalms 30:5 says weeping endures for a night, but joy comes in the morning.  When we are down in the slippery pit, we just have to hang on and trust God that our morning is on the way.

Brooke: That’s so true.

Danele: Now, Brooke, I know you have some exciting news. Would you like to share it with everyone?

Brooke: In February, I released Accept this Dandelion, a romantic comedy revolving around a local dating TV show. I enjoyed the characters and plot SO much that I decided to continue the story with a series. Dandelions on the Road is set to release on November 5th.

Danele: Did you hear that everyone??? That’s in THREE DAYS!!!! Can you give us some hints about the story?

Brooke: Dandelions on the Road has many of the same themes as Accept this Dandelion, and it involves the same dating TV show with a woman in charge this time instead of a man. It has plenty of humorous moments, and I can’t wait for people to enjoy it…hopefully as much as I enjoyed writing it, if possible! Here’s the link to it: http://www.amazon.com/Dandelions-Road-Dandelion-Book-2-ebook/dp/B0143HSRYG/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1444700156&sr=1-1&keywords=Dandelions+on+the+road

Danele: I’m sure your new book is going to be a scream!!! Can you give us a list of the books you’ve written?

Brooke: Sure! Someone Always Loved You; Wrong Place, Right Time; Accept this Dandelion; Mamarazzi; Shower in the Rain (A children’s book); and Dandelions on the Road (Releasing on Thursday, November 5th)

Danele: Brooke, it’s been so fun having you on my blog! Thank you so much for talking with us today!

Brooke: It’s been a pleasure knowing you this past year, and I greatly appreciate your efforts with this blog and in the reading area as a whole!

 

Friends, Brooke Williams is such a delightful person. With the help of the Lord, she has conquered sadness and found joy, and now joy and laughter seem to flow whenever she is around. She is a wonderful example and an inspiration. If you would like to learn more about her, please follow the links below. I hope you all have a wonderful day!

www.Authorbrookewilliams.com

https://www.facebook.com/authorbrookewilliams

7 thoughts on “Brooke Williams–Author Interview

Leave a Reply

