Angela Shaffer–Author Interview

Angela

Dear Friends,

Today, I’m delighted to introduce you to Angela Shaffer—a wonderful woman that I’ve known practically my whole life. Angela and I grew up attending the same church in Colorado. Throughout the time I’ve known her, I’ve been impressed by her sweet spirit. She is one of the nicest people anyone could ever hope to meet! I’ve always known that Angela is extremely talented—musical ability simply runs in her veins—so you can imagine how excited I was to learn that she’s also become a writer! Her devotional, Spoken For, was released in August, and as soon as it hit the shelves, I bought a copy. I’m so glad that I did. It was deeply moving, and it really spoke to my heart. I’m proud to be able to say that I knew Angela “back when!” And it is such a treat to welcome her to my blog!

Danele: Angela, I’m so excited about your book, and I’m happy to have you with us today!

Angela: Thank you so much for taking the time to interview me.  It is an honor and a pleasure!

Danele: Thank you, it is for me as well! Well, let’s jump right into things. Can you tell us when you gave your heart to Christ?

Angela: I was very blessed to be in a family that has always served the Lord.

Danele: That’s true! Your dad was one of my Sunday school teachers, and your mom played the piano during our services. Your family is simply the salt of the earth.

Angela: Thanks! I grew up in the church, but having said that, it wasn’t until I was 30 that I fully gave my life to Christ. Up until then I knew about God, and I had read the Bible, but it was more about religion than relationship.

Danele: I can understand that. Sometimes people who grow up “knowing” about God still haven’t truly met Him. When did things turn around for you?

Angela: In my college years and beyond. I tried so many things to make me happy but nothing ever made me feel complete.  For a short time I left the church.  My life changed when I started focusing on reading the Bible chapter-by-chapter and verse-by-verse. I began focusing on having a real relationship with Christ.  I knew about the Lord, but I didn’t really come to know the Lord until that time.  I was tired of living my life my way.  I knew I had to change, and that change needed to be surrendering everything to Jesus Christ.

Danele: That’s so beautiful, Angela! Surrendering to Christ, and reading the Bible, are keys to faith. Psalm 119:105 says that the Bible is a lamp unto our feet and a light for our path. When we read it, God just seems to reveal Himself. I love studying His word.

Angela: So do I. I feel the presence of God so much during those quiet times.  I shut off all the outside noise, open my Bible and study, asking the Lord to speak to me and reveal what He wants me to learn.  It’s my prayer time after studying that I love the most.  I feel like the arms of God are wrapped around me. It’s like He is smiling down on me, and all I can do is thank Him and worship Him.  It’s when I am praising the Lord–no matter what I am going through–that I feel the closest to Him.  There is absolutely no other feeling in the world that compares to being in the presence of the Lord.

Danele: That’s so true, and you’ve explained it so well. Some people have told me that God is boring or that He isn’t real. But He IS real.  He is alive. And basking in His presence is such a beautiful thing. You’re right, absolutely NOTHING compares to it! My whole world can be in turmoil, my body can be in pain, but when I’m sitting quietly at the Lord’s feet I feel such peace and love. When I’m with Him, I know everything is going to be just fine.

Angela: I love my prayer time. Sometimes it is so hard to open my eyes and go on with my day because I want to stay in that moment with Him.

Danele: Me too! God is ABSOLUTELY AWESOME!!! He not only spends time with us, but He also instructs us. Has God ever taught you an eye-opening lesson?

Angela: He sure has. I was very good at putting up a front and letting people think that everything was okay.  Little did many know that I was desperate, depressed, and looking for any way out of this life.  When I was at my lowest point, a friend at church pulled me aside to speak with me.  In the past, the few people I had spoken to about my issues would always allow me to feel sorry for myself and allow me to play the victim.  After listening to what I had to say, this friend told me in a very loving way that I was being selfish and that this was not the life God had in store for me.

Danele: Wow! I’ll bet that was hard to hear!

Angela: I was shocked that she would accuse me of such a thing! I had never been labeled as selfish before.  After going home I could not get her words out of my mind.  I prayed to God, asking Him to please show me how I was being selfish. I wanted to see what my friend was seeing.  As I began searching the scriptures, and really studying the Bible, God opened my eyes.  It was my friend’s comment–the comment that had offended me at first–that made me take a good look at myself.  It caused me to change my way of thinking.  Rather than thinking of what I wanted and how I thought my life should be, I began to think of my situation in terms of the way Christ saw me.  I’m so thankful my friend cared enough to give me the truth.  Her honesty, and her love for me, brought me closer to the Lord and brought me out of my depression.  The world today teaches us to be focused on ourselves–what we want and what we think we need–rather than focusing on the Lord and surrendering to His will.  The Lord has taught me that His will is so much better than mine. He has taught me that letting go of my desires actually brings joy and peace into my life.

Danele: Angela, you are really touching my heart! I know that there are people out there who are hurting today. What would you like to say to them?

Angela: I would say to anyone who is hurting that Jesus is the only answer.  The Lord does not promise us an easy life when we become saved.  As matter of fact, He stated that we will face trials and tribulations.  When we turn to Jesus, and fully surrender ourselves to Him, there is a huge burden lifted off our shoulders.  It is then that we stop relying on ourselves and rely on the strength of Christ, knowing that we are not alone and that He has already overcome this world.  The pain you are feeling is very real, but it is temporary, and we need to keep an eternal perspective.  One day we will be with the Lord, and we will be able to say that it was worth it all.

Danele: That’s so true, Angela! Thank you for those wonderful words! Now, can you tell us a little about your writing?

Angela: I recently published a devotional called Spoken For. This devotional came out of a need I felt as a single Christian. Many of the books I had come across were only focused on how to find that “right” spouse.  Even though I looked, I had a hard time finding books that let me know that being single was not a curse–that it was actually a gift from God.  After confirmation through three godly people in my life, I wrote my devotional. Spoken For contains 200 excerpts, each with two verses. It focuses on a relationship with Christ, trusting God’s will and His timing, and knowing that where we are at this moment is exactly where He wants us.

Danele: It really is a beautiful devotional. Can you share a purchasing link?

Angela: Sure. My book is available on amazon.com. http://www.amazon.com/Spoken-Devotional-Singles-Angela-Shaffer/dp/1515202607/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1444771529&sr=8-2&keywords=Spoken+For

Danele: Angela, thank you for being with us today! Having you on my blog was such a delight.

Angela: Thank you so much for this opportunity to share my heart and to speak with you.  This has been a great blessing!

 

Friends, Angela Shaffer is such a beautiful person. Her love for the Lord shines through in everything she says and does. If you would like to learn more about her, or if you would like to contact her personally, you can follow the links below. I hope you have a wonderful day!

https://www.facebook.com/SpokenForShaffer

a-shaffer@live.com

4 thoughts on “Angela Shaffer–Author Interview

  1. Oh my, she is just delightful! (and adorable—hope that doesn’t embarrass her)
    The sweet, humble spirit she demonstrates is a great reminder for those of us who get prickly when fellow believers approach us about our shortcomings.
    Thank you for sharing about Angela!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

