Penelope Marzec–Author Interview

Penelope Marzec

Dear Friends,

Today, I’d like to introduce you to the FABULOUS woman in this photograph. If anyone could be classified as a Renaissance Woman, it’s Penelope Marzec! Not only is she a wonderful writer, she also sings, cooks, paints, and excels in photography. She is such a talented person, and she injects a twinkle of fun into everything she says and does. Penelope has a huge heart, and she is constantly trying to brighten the lives of the people around her. In my own case, when I joined Prism Book Group, she offered me encouragement on the days that I needed it the most. She is truly a wonderful, talented person, and I am SO privileged to have her on my blog today!

Danele: Hello, Penelope! I’m glad that you are able to talk with us!

Penelope: I’m glad to be here. I’ve appreciated the book reviews you’ve written–for me and other Prism Book Group authors. Reading your reviews has given me more insight into the important details that make a book exciting for readers. The reviews also make me want to buy everyone else’s books and read them.

Danele: I’m glad you’ve enjoyed the reviews! I love good, clean, Christian books, and when I joined Prism Book Group, I felt like I’d found a gold mine. It’s been so fun reading and reviewing the stories. Well, let’s jump right into things. Can you describe a time when God spoke to you?

Penelope: Yes, I can. When my sister was in her twenties, she dated a man for nearly five years. It was very much an on-again, off-again relationship. The young man had no ambition, and I personally didn’t believe he would be a good match for my sister. I fretted about the situation until finally, one day, I asked her if she had asked him whether she could stay home with their children when they were young—if they should have any. Well, due to my prompting she did ask him that question, and he responded by saying, “What do you want, a free ride?”

Danele: That’s awful! A woman should be able to choose whether she wants to be a business woman or a stay-at-home mom without being insulted! Sometimes it isn’t financially feasible, and sometimes it isn’t what the woman wants, but being a full-time mother is one of the hardest jobs there is! There’s nothing “free ride-ish” about it. So what did your sister do?

Penelope: She broke up with him, but she was despondent. She thought she would never find the right man and would never get married. It hurt to see her so miserable, especially since I had initiated the breakup.

Danele: Watching someone you love go through something difficult is so hard! What did you do?

Penelope: I prayed and prayed, but still worried. However, one day as I was driving around praying, I suddenly had an answer to my prayers. I didn’t hear words, and it wasn’t me making up my mind about the situation. I can only describe it as a “knowing” along with a sense of peace. I was given an answer. My sister would get married.  It was a great relief to my worried mind, but I didn’t tell anyone. Not long afterward, my sister met a wonderful man who she later married. Through this situation, I learned that prayers do get answered.

Danele: Wow! That’s so cool! I’m glad that everything worked out okay. And I know what you mean about that “knowing.” I’ve had people ask me how to hear from the Lord, and I always tell them to listen for that little, gentle voice. It’s not audible (at least it hasn’t been for me), but it seems to resonate and bring with it a wave of peace. I think that John 10:4, “the sheep follow Him, for they know His voice,” is one of my favorite passages of scripture. I love the fact that as God’s children, we have the privilege–and the right–to learn how to recognize His voice. Psalm 25:12 says, “Where is the man who fears the Lord? God will teach him how to choose the best.” It’s so wonderful that we don’t have to struggle through this world all alone. The Bible is such a comfort! Do you have a favorite Bible verse?

Penelope: I sure do! My favorite Bible verse is James 1:17 “…all good giving and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no alteration or shadow caused by change.” (NAB) I’m very fond of the entire book of James, but that one verse gives me great comfort. I am certain that the Lord is giving me just what I need AND that it’s all the good stuff. In addition, no matter what happens in life–which is full of changes–He will not change and will continue to send down perfect gifts designed for me. I’m convinced that I’ve received plenty of them already. I know I am loved, and I want everyone to know that He cares for them, too. Look for the good stuff!

Danele: That’s beautiful! And you’re right! GOD LOVES US!!!! Isn’t that AWESOME?? Penelope, thank you for sharing that verse! And it’s true–we are very blessed. One of the things I appreciate about you is how you look for the happy things in life. Recently, you’ve been posting pictures of 100 happy days online. Each day, you’ve found something to be glad about. Because of your example, I’ve started finding happy things too. You’re such an encouragement.

Penelope: Thank you!

Danele: Now, I’d love for you to tell us about your recent book release.

Penelope: Patriot’s Pride was released in June. It’s the sequel to Patriot’s Heart. Patriot’s Pride follows Margaret McGowan as she crosses the Atlantic Ocean in 1784. She’s on her way to England to hear the reading of the will of the Earl of Broadcraft, her grandfather. She clashes with the ship’s doctor, Derrick Fortune, who is on his way to study with John Hunter, the illustrious surgeon. The journey is perilous and danger waits for both Margaret and Derrick.

Danele: I haven’t had the privilege of reading all of your books yet, but I’ve loved the way you’ve incorporated symbolism and imagery into the ones I have read. And your characters are so much fun! Can you give us some links to help us find your books online?

Penelope: Sure!

Sea of Hope: http://amzn.com/B004INH80A

Heaven’s Blue: http://amzn.com/B004INH6A2

A Rush of Light: http://amzn.com/B004INH742

The Keeper’s Promise: http://amzn.com/B004INH86Y

Patriot’s Heart: http://amzn.com/B00I9PCMFO

Patriot’s Pride: http://amzn.com/B00ZZ7SDA2

You can also find Patriot’s Pride at Prism Book Group: http://www.prismbookgroup.com/patriotspride.html

Danele: Penelope, it has been so much fun having you with us today! I really enjoyed talking with you.

Penelope: I’ve been happy to be here! I enjoyed the visit and your questions. You have a great blog. Keep up the good work.

 

Friends, Penelope Marzec is such a wonderful person. She tries so hard to be an encouragement and a blessing to others. If you would like to learn more about her, you can follow the links below. I hope you all have a wonderful day!

Website: www.penelopemarzec.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/penelopemarzecbooks

Twitter: @penelopemarzec

Instagram: @marzecpenelope

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/penelopemarzec/

6 thoughts on “Penelope Marzec–Author Interview

  1. Kelly

    Great interview! I really enjoyed hearing how God spoke to Penelope about her sister’s future! God is so good to us. He cares enough to give her peace! I know this will sound crazy but I think I’ve heard the audible voice of God. The answer was so clear and so pronounced I think I actually heard the response, not only in my heart but through my ears. But then I doubt myself because it was nothing like the voice Moses heard on the mountaintop (or at least the way Cecil B DeMille portrayed it)!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

