Jewell Tweedt–Author Interview

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Dear Friends,

Today, I’d like to introduce you to the inspirational person in this photo–Jewell Tweedt. When I think of a fighter, I think of Jewell.  She’s not only a sweet person and wonderful author, she’s also a cancer survivor. Jewell has faced a battle that many of us would be unable to bear, and to me, she’s a true example of triumphant courage.

Danele: Hello, Jewell! I’m so glad that you’re able to talk with us today.

Jewell: Thank you, Danele, for this chance to visit with you.

Danele: Jewell, you know that I faced adversity with Multi-Chemical Sensitivity. Would you like to share about your own battle with adversity?

Jewell: I also had an illness that brought me closer to God. At age 37 I was diagnosed with breast cancer.

Danele: That must have been very scary. How were you able to handle it?

Jewell: I was a baby believer, and newly married, and my husband and I were understandably frightened. Through God’s grace I learned to let go of my stressful career as a retail buyer, and pray more, and be more thankful.

Danele: Those are all hard lessons to learn.  When I was diagnosed with my illness, quitting my job was very difficult for me. But you’re right, prayer and thankfulness are the keys. Whenever I would get quiet with God, I would feel His peace overcoming my fear. Like you, I had to learn to be thankful.  I started a gratitude journal, and focusing on my blessings really helped when I was hurting and confused. Did you learn anything else during your journey?

Jewell: Yes, I also learned to tell my loved ones how I felt about them.

Danele: I really respect that.  Sometimes it’s hard to open up and tell people how much we love them, but when faced with an illness, it somehow becomes easier. Life is so precious–and so fragile.  It can be over in an instant. It’s important to verbalize our love while we have the chance. Is there anything else you’d like to say about your illness?

Jewell: Going through treatments those first years was very difficult, but I grew stronger. Today I am a twenty-year survivor, and I hope, a better person.

Danele: Jewell, you’re such an inspiration!  It’s easy for people who haven’t experienced a life-altering event to tell others to “trust in God” and “believe things will get better,” but you speak from experience.  You’ve faced a horrible battle, and you’ve come out of it stronger than ever–I really admire that about you! Now, I know you have some exciting news–I’d love for you to share it with my readers.

Jewell: On September 18th, A Lady for the Lawman, my second book with Prism Book Group, was released. This western romance is the story of a young Pinkerton agent in post Civil War Omaha who falls for an independent career girl. Here’s the back cover blurb: “Crack undercover Pinkerton agent Jason Reynolds gets the toughest assignment of his career. Sent by President U.S. Grant to Omaha to capture a loco ex-soldier accused of stealing Jefferson Davis’ treasury, Jason falls for feisty shopkeeper Arianna Quincy. Trouble is, she’s not interested. When the lunatic grabs Arianna, Jason’s skills are put to the test.  A Pinkerton Agent always gets his man, but can he get his woman?”

Danele: That sounds really good! Where did you come up with the idea for your book?

Jewell: I wrote A Lady for the Lawman because I wanted to continue the story of crazy Cal Davidson from A Bride for the Sheriff and develop another strong female character like Claire Maxwell. When working on my master’s degree, I took a course on the Civil War. One of the texts was titled Madness, Malingering and Malfeasance. It was a fascinating work on the transformation of psychiatry and law in the Civil War era. I wanted readers to know that thousands of men suffered mentally as well as physically. Many men disappeared after the war choosing not to return home. Cal came from my imagination, and in the end, he receives the treatment he needs–but his mental illness affected his life and the lives of those like Claire who knew him. The character of Jason Reynolds came from my admiration of the men and women in law enforcement. My brother was a military police man for many years, and his courage always impressed me. Arianna Quincy’s strong yet feminine character is based on my niece Arianne who is a kind, gentle, yet strong woman of God.

Danele: Congratulations on your new release! I’m so happy for you! Now, I know that A Lady for the Lawman isn’t your only book. What other books have you written, and how can we purchase them?

Jewell: All of my books are available for sale on my blog www.tweedtjewell.blogspot.com and through Amazon. Here’s a list of my books:

A Lady for a Lawman

A Bride for the Sheriff

Faith and Hope-Grace’s Story

Gold In My PocketA Gold Rush Diary

Cooking up Trouble at the Peabody Palace (the sequel to Gold in My Pocket)

When Christmas Bells are Ringing (another of my books) is going to be released under new title by Prism Book Group this fall.

Danele: That’s terrific news! I’m looking forward to reading more of your work. I enjoy spunky heroines, and you have such a great way of making the Old West come to life! Jewell, thank you so much for talking with us today. I appreciate learning more about your books and the brave battle you fought with cancer. Thank you so much for sharing with us.

Jewell: You’re welcome.

 

Friends, Jewell is such an inspiration.  If you would like to learn more about her, or if you would like to buy one of her books, please click on the following link: www.tweedtjewell.blogspot.com If you would like to contact her personally, you can send her a message at: tweedtjewell@gmail.com

I hope you all have a wonderful day!

 

 

6 thoughts on “Jewell Tweedt–Author Interview

  1. Jewell, it was great to get to know more about you. And how great that you can use your in-depth knowledge of the Civil War era to educate, entertain and inspire. Your blurb for ‘A Lady for the Lawman’ is terrific! Those are so hard to write but this is really catchy. Thanks ladies!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Danele and Jewell, what a joy it is to begin Monday morning with you two heroines of the faith! I found it interesting that both of you mentioned gratitude or thankfulness in your recovery process. But isn’t that what God says? “Come into His presence with singing…with thankfulness.”

    I’m a GriefShare facilitator and one of the things I encourage my folks to do about half-way through our program is begin keeping a journal of 1,000 gifts (as suggested by a famous author with a book by the same name…Anne Voskamp).

    Can’t wait to read your book, Jewell. Thanks for sharing your journey and your faith.

    DiAne Gates

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

