The Shower Curtain Spider

spider shower

Dear Friends,

Do you want to know my definition of sheer terror???

It’s getting into the shower without my glasses, squinting down, and seeing a HUGE black spider beside my toes.

Do you want to know my definition of utter embarrassment???

It’s yelping, hopping on one foot, tossing the bar of soap at the offending arachnid, slipping, and nearly breaking my neck by almost falling out of the tub—only to discover that the spider is, in fact, the magnet stitched into the bottom of the shower curtain.

Being of a rather analytical mind, after I regained my balance and nursed my bruised pride, I tried to find a spiritual lesson in my spider adventure—and believe it or not, I actually found one.

Years ago, when I learned that I had multi-chemical sensitivity, I did a massive amount of research, and what I found was very discouraging.  Many people never recovered, and others came down with other hideous illnesses.  Premature death was a possibility and so was indefinite quarantine. Needless to say, I wasn’t a very happy camper. In fact, the more I researched, the gloomier I became. After a while, I began to see myself as a dead-woman walking. I pictured my funeral. I made out my will. I stopped struggling and resigned myself to the inevitable. Joy left. Life turned gray.

Now, what ended up changing? At some point, I realized that what I was doing wasn’t productive. Imagining my funeral was a waste of time. Mourning my “lost” life was destructive. So, I tossed all my research into a plastic tub and taped it shut.  I deleted the links to the websites. I stopped looking for more information about my condition. Was I being foolish? I don’t think so.  You see, before I’d even heard the term multi-chemical sensitivity, I’d received God’s promise that I would be well. I figured that if I had God’s promise, reading things that contradicted that promise weren’t doing me any good. All they were doing was destroying my faith. I wasn’t ignoring facts—I was choosing to decide that GOD’S FACT trumped man’s facts.

It’s been years since I tossed my research into a tub, and although I still struggle with some health issues, I’m getting better every day.  I’m out of full quarantine, and I haven’t come down with any of the hideous side effects that I used to worry about. Funeral plans and wills are things of the past. Life is opening up, and it’s GRAND. Looking back on it, my research and funeral plans were like me attacking the spider on the shower curtain. To my blurry vision, it looked like I was headed toward certain death, but in reality, I was getting better every day.  The huge, spidery “truth” that I was seeing was only an illusion.  I’m so glad that what God says ALWAYS trumps what man says. I’m so glad that FAITH trumps “facts” every time! What a beautiful truth!  What a happy thought!

You know, I’m glad I made a fool of myself with the “spider.” It reminded me not to freak out when I spot scary things on the horizon. After all, perhaps the “scary thing” is just the blurry outline of a harmless magnet.  Perhaps it’s not scary at all. Maybe, it will end up being like that research I did—a collection of harmless “facts” collecting dust in a plastic tub.

“Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalteth itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ.” (2 Corinthians 10:5)

2 thoughts on “The Shower Curtain Spider

  1. Oh, this is funny! At least the part about throwing the soap to kill a magnet. And the rest of this is so true. Why don’t we realize that even the scary things that do materialize have no power to truly and eternally harm us! Thanks for the reminder to live in the joy of the Lord every moment, and not spend it cowering in fear.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

