A Tooth and an Unexpected Trip

Danele J Rotharmel

Dear Friends,
Have I told you lately that God is AMAZING??? While I was in quarantine, I couldn’t go to the dentist, and over the last few years, I’ve been having problems with a tooth. I knew I’d have to address the problem sooner or later, but after all these years, my old dentist retired and I had no idea who to see. I was also worried that the smells of a dental office could make me sick and that I could react badly to Novocain. Needless to say, I’ve been putting the issue on the back burner. Well, a couple of days after witnessing what happened to Fred (see the post “A Frog Named Fred” from September 5, 2015), I bit down on something and nearly went through the roof. Rather than subsiding, the pain continued all through the night. I smeared Orajel on my tooth and had my family pray. During the night, I heard the soft, silent voice of the Lord saying that everything would be okay—but to my analytical mind that message wasn’t very comforting. After all, would it be okay BEFORE or AFTER I went through a painful dental procedure???

Oh, friends! I wish I could stand up and say I was a mountain of faith, but I was actually a puddle of worry. I hoped the pain would be gone when I woke up, but it wasn’t. It hurt when I drank cold water. It hurt when I sucked in a breath of air. I knew I was sunk. One of my relatives recommended a local dentist, and I made an appointment. Over the phone, they said they would fill the cavity immediately unless I needed a root canal. (The dreaded RC!!). I had my family pray again, and I felt God’s peace. I felt God say that he would give me the strength I needed. (Again, not very comforting to someone facing the drill). About an hour before I went, the pain began to subside. When I arrived at the office, my peace flew out the window and worry crept back in. Although there wasn’t a smell in the office that was making me sick, I was still worried about Novocain. They took X-rays and then the dentist began to poke around on my tooth. I held my breath waiting to see if I was facing the dreaded drill or the more-dreaded RC. After a bit more poking, the dentist said that there simply wasn’t a problem with any of my teeth. ((( !!!!!!! ))) I was so shocked. She showed me the X-rays and let me watch in a mirror while she poked and prodded. I was so amazed. I looked at her and said, “I had my family pray. Do you think God healed me? Do you think he gave me a miracle?” Looking back on it, I have to laugh. I didn’t even stop to wonder if she believed in God. I was just so shocked that I was blabbering without a filter. I kept telling the dentist, “I just don’t believe it! We prayed, and I think God healed me.” I was so flabbergasted that I wasn’t thinking about anything other than how astonished I was, and how good God was! Did God heal my tooth?? Friends, I really think he did. I would have rather eaten DIRT than go to the dentist that day. I only went because I was in PAIN! (Big capital-letter pain). Then the pain left, and I saw X-ray evidence that my tooth was healthy. I still can’t believe it!! I was praying for the smells of the dental office not to make me sick and for the drill not to hurt too much. I didn’t expect for the dentist to clean my teeth and send me home. God is SO WONDERFUL!!! I am constantly amazed by this wonderful God that we serve!! Just as frosting on the cake, around this time, a friend of mine sent me a blue dragonfly necklace in the mail. Talk about a timely gift!

Now, what makes things even more amazing is that a few days after I went to the dentist, I received word that the field next to my house was going to be sprayed by airplane. The spray was a strong pesticide, and people were warned to stay out of the field for at least two days.  For someone with multi-chemical sensitivity, that meant immediate evacuation. I didn’t have much time, so I threw things in the car and took off.  I wasn’t sure where I was going, and I couldn’t make reservations because I didn’t know which hotel cleansers I’d be able to tolerate.  If it hadn’t been for witnessing the miracle with Fred, and for experiencing the healing of my tooth, I would have been a nervous wreak. As it was, I relaxed and enjoyed the unexpected trip.  Can you guess where I ended up??? The Grand Canyon.  Can you believe it? Just a couple of years ago, I couldn’t even go to the supermarket, and now, I’m able to travel across the country.

Friends, my heart is filled with gratitude to God!  He’s been with me every step of the way. Yes, my illness was painful and hard.  And yes, seven years of quarantine were difficult to bear.  But God saw me through. I love how God sends us little love notes.  He knew my unexpected evacuation would be frightening, and so he stepped in and let a frog and a tooth show me that he knows EXACTLY what’s going on and that he’s in control. During my illness, I doubted God, I yelled at God, I ignored God, and I finally ended up believing in him completely. I’m so glad that God never gives up on us.  I’m so glad that he is always reaching out in love.  I’m so glad that he really, TRULY cares!

Danele Rotharmel 1

Leave a Reply

